Atlanta, Georgia DUI Law
Officers and prosecutors are not the only individuals who deal with drunk-driving cases. After failing or refusing to submit to a breath test, the Department of Driver Services (DDS) will handle your administrative license suspension. As the agency you will first encounter after your arrest the DDS has the final say in deciding whether your driving privileges should remain intact—and under Georgia’s 10-Day DUI rule, you must submit a license appeal letter to them within 10 business days after your arrest to avoid an automatic license suspension. Failure to do this will result in the suspension of your driving privileges 30 days after your arrest.
The Department of Public Safety also deals with forms that are relevant to DUI cases, such as the DS-1205 form, which is issued to any driver who refuses or fails a breathalyzer. In addition, this office also oversees the Georgia State Patrol.
Attorney Lee Webb is a dedicated DUI defense lawyer who has worked with the various government agencies who are involved in a drunk-driving case. With direct contact numbers to these offices, he can help you with any DUI-related issues you are currently facing.
The Atlanta, Georgia DUI law makes it a crime for drivers to operate a vehicle—whether it is a car, motorcycle, or boat—while possessing a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher. Commercial drivers and drivers under 21 face much lower limits of 04% and .02%, respectively.
While the punishment for violating Atlanta’s DUI law varies based on factors such as age, prior convictions, and other extenuating factors, you could face incarceration, probation, expensive fines, community service, and a license suspension if you are convicted of the offense. Increased insurance costs and a criminal record are other consequences of a DUI conviction.
Fortunately, you don’t have to face your charges alone. To learn more about Atlanta DUI laws, and to receive a complimentary, no-obligation consultation, schedule an appointment with Mr. Webb today.