Atlanta, Georgia DUI 1st Offense
Unlike other misdemeanor offenses, which may result only in probation and fines, you could be sentenced to jail time for a DUI. In fact, according to the mandatory minimum sentencing guidelines judges use, all but 24 hours of your jail sentence may be suspended or probated. Other mandatory minimum penalties for an Atlanta, Georgia DUI 1st offense include fines ranging from $300 to $1,000 and 40 hours of community service. In addition, you may be ordered to attend a risk reduction course, otherwise known as DUI School, which takes 24 hours to complete.
You could also be sentenced to twelve months of probation, although this may be reduced depending on the actual jail time served. In other words, if you spent 24 hours behind bars, you will be placed on probation for 11 months and 29 days. While on probation, you are required to strictly abide by the terms, such as checking in with your probation officer or attending AA meetings. Failure to comply, or committing another crime while on probation, could lead to additional penalties.
You may face other unexpected consequences after a DUI 1st offense. When your auto insurer discovers that you have been convicted of drunk driving, your rates could substantially increase. If you have other traffic offenses on your driving record, your coverage could be dropped completely.
A DUI 1st offense will also result in a criminal record that can never be erased. Easily accessible to third parties, your conviction may come up every time you apply for a job or school. If a clean criminal record is required, you may be denied valuable opportunities.
If you are facing an Atlanta, Georgia DUI 1st offense, please schedule an appointment with Attorney Lee Webb—the first initial case evaluation is always free.